Important information

The Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) has upgraded their travel advice to Do Not Travel (Level 4) for all overseas destinations, as well as implementing domestic travel restrictions.  In light of this, unfortunately we will no longer issue new travel insurance policies, effective 25 March 2020. Of course, we will closely monitor this situation and we hope to support you with your travel again soon. We’re here for you, so please check back regularly for trips planned for a later date.

Your safety while travelling on your adventure is important, just like making sure your insurance policy is valid when you embark on your adventure.

To ensure your policy is valid whilst travelling, we've pulled an up-to-date list of countries the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) consider as "Do not travel" & "Reconsider your travel" – this is provided via the Smartraveller website.

It's important to keep up-to-date with this page and the Smartraveller website. If the country you intend to visit is on this list, your travel insurance policy may not be valid.

As of 4 March 2020, this event continues to affect travellers.
Chinese authorities have identified an outbreak of a new type of Novel coronavirus (COVID-19), (“Coronavirus”) originating in Wuhan City in Hubei Province. Coronavirus has tragically resulted in the loss of life.

On 30 January 2020, the World Health Organisation (WHO) declared Coronavirus a public health emergency of international concern.

We would like to advise all travellers to exercise a high degree of caution, closely watch local media and emergency services and Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) smart traveller website. If you have travelled to an affected area and have developed symptoms of respiratory illness, seek medical attention urgently.

If you are currently travelling:
It is always our priority to assist our customers where possible and within our ability to do so.

  • If you have been affected as a result of Coronavirus and require medical assistance, please contact our Emergency Assistance team on +61 7 3305 7499

On 12 January 2020, the Taal Volcano in the Philippines erupted causing an ash cloud which has drifted across the Philippines. This has resulted in people evacuating the affected area and the temporary closure of Manila International airport. If you have been affected as a result of events in the Philippines and require medical assistance, please contact our Emergency Assistance team on +61 7 3305 7499.

Speak to your local operator and ask to be put through reverse charge to +61 7 3305 7499.

Click here for more information on current travel alerts and understand the impact on your insurance.

Do Not Travel
Country Date of Issue
Iraq 14 Jan 2022
Ethiopia 07 Jan 2022
Iran 24 Dec 2021
Afghanistan 22 Dec 2021
Syria 08 Dec 2021
Myanmar 06 Dec 2021
Somalia 02 Dec 2021
Venezuela 28 Oct 2021
Libya 28 Oct 2021
Chad 28 Oct 2021
Niger 28 Oct 2021
Yemen 28 Oct 2021
South Sudan 28 Oct 2021
North Korea (Democratic People's Republic of Korea) 28 Oct 2021
Central African Republic 28 Oct 2021
Mali 28 Oct 2021
Reconsider Your Need to Travel
Country Date of Issue
Pakistan 18 Jan 2022
Solomon Islands 17 Jan 2022
Tonga 17 Jan 2022
Lebanon 17 Jan 2022
Honduras 14 Jan 2022
Tunisia 14 Jan 2022
Haiti 12 Jan 2022
South Africa 12 Jan 2022
Ukraine 11 Jan 2022
Papua New Guinea 10 Jan 2022
Vietnam 10 Jan 2022
Sudan 07 Jan 2022
Colombia 05 Jan 2022
New Caledonia 05 Jan 2022
Mongolia 01 Jan 2022
Guam 23 Dec 2021
Brazil 23 Dec 2021
Eswatini 15 Dec 2021
Namibia 15 Dec 2021
Botswana 15 Dec 2021
Lesotho 15 Dec 2021
Zimbabwe 15 Dec 2021
Malawi 15 Dec 2021
Mozambique 15 Dec 2021
Chile 14 Dec 2021
Mexico 13 Dec 2021
Russia 10 Dec 2021
Burkina Faso 06 Dec 2021
Nigeria 03 Dec 2021
Democratic Republic of the Congo 25 Nov 2021
Madagascar 17 Nov 2021
Belarus 12 Nov 2021
Saudi Arabia 05 Nov 2021
Nicaragua 28 Oct 2021
Federated States of Micronesia 28 Oct 2021
Ecuador 28 Oct 2021
Egypt 28 Oct 2021
Philippines 28 Oct 2021
Panama 28 Oct 2021
Costa Rica 28 Oct 2021
Mauritania 28 Oct 2021
Guatemala 28 Oct 2021
El Salvador 28 Oct 2021
Samoa 28 Oct 2021
Montenegro 28 Oct 2021
Cuba 28 Oct 2021
Dominican Republic 28 Oct 2021
Algeria 28 Oct 2021
Armenia 28 Oct 2021
Eritrea 28 Oct 2021
Serbia 28 Oct 2021
Timor-Leste 28 Oct 2021
Burundi 28 Oct 2021
Turkmenistan 28 Oct 2021
High Degree of Caution

Travel alerts are currently not available. Please visit the Smart Traveller website for more information.

Please note: there are exclusions applicable to claims arising from travelling against Government advice, warning and/or mass media statements. To find out more, see the General Exclusions section of the PDS.

Visit the Smart Traveller site for more information